Conservative Diary

« The Blitz spirit reigned at CCHQ during this afternoon's protests | Main | Never mind the riot, the Tories are popular - and the IDS welfare reforms help explain why »

Three MEPs to contest the Conservative group leadership in Brussels

By Jonathan Isaby

Following the recent announcement by Timothy Kirkhope of his intention to resign as leader of the Conservative MEPs, nominations have now closed in the election to choose his successor and the other group office holders for the next year.

Group Leadership

Picture 10
Three candidates have been nominated (pictured above):

  • Richard Ashworth
  • Martin Callanan
  • Charles Tannock

Deputy Leadership

Two candidates have bee nomniated:

  • Giles Chichester
  • Jacqui Foster


  • Syed Kamall elected unopposed

Bureau Members

Four candidates have been nominated for the two available places:

  • Philip Bradbourn
  • Ashley Fox
  • Emma McClarkin
  • Struan Stevenson

The elections will take place in Strasbourg on November 23rd. The election for leader will be conducted through exhaustive ballots: i.e. if no candidate wins 50%+1 of the vote in the first, three-way ballot, the third-placed candidate will drop out and a second ballot will be held between the two remaining candidates.

ConHome will be asking the three leadership candidates to make a public pitch for the role through a short piece to be published on the site.


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.