Conservative Diary

« What's happened to the Government's review of Sinn Fein's expenses? | Main | George Osborne puts those making the "lifestyle choice" of living on benefits on notice of impending additional cuts »

A number of PPSs are being appointed - including the first jobs for members of the 2010 intake

By Jonathan Isaby

I have it on good authority that a new clutch of parliamentary private secretaries are about to be appointed to work with junior ministers - including a number of posts for members of the new intake, as well as for some of those elected in 2005 who were overlooked when ministerial jobs were handed out after the general election.

The appointment of any of the Class of 2010 to such posts so early in their career signifies several things: on the one hand it will be a recognition that there are some hugely talented people who have just arrived in the Commons who are destined for great things in the future; but it will also be a way of containing any early thirst they might have for rebelliousness, since ministerial aides are regarded as part of the "payroll vote" and therefore expected always to vote with the Government in the division lobbies.

PPSs were appointed to work alongside nearly every member of the Cabinet back in June, although I learn that one of the few remaining Cabinet ministers without a PPS has just appointed a member of the new intake to work with her:

  • Glyn Davies, who gained Montgomeryshire from Lembit Opik, will be PPS to Cheryl Gillan, Secretary of State for Wales.

I will add further news of these appointments as and when they emerge - and do email me if you have any intelligence!

  • Mary Macleod, who gained Brentford and Isleworth at the general election, will be PPS to Nick Herbert, Minister of State working at both the Home Office and Justice Department.
  • Nigel Adams, who is the new MP for Selby and Ainsty, will PPS to Lord Strathclyde, the Leader of the House of Lords.
  • Daniel Kawczynski, MP for Shrewsbury and Atcham since 2005, willl be PPS to Jim Paice, the Agriculture minister and Defra Minister, Richard Benyon.
  • Adam Holloway, MP for Gravesham since 2005, will be PPS to David Lidington, the Europe Minister.
Friday afternoon update:

More PPS appointments announced:

  • Jessica Lee, who gained Erewash, will be PPS to Attorney General, Dominic Grieve.
  • Angie Bray, who won Ealing Central and Acton, will be PPS to Cabinet Office Minister, Francis Maude.
  • Nicky Morgan, who gained Loughborough, will be PPS to Universities and Science Minister, David Willetts.
  • Alok Sharma, who gained Reading West, will be PPS to Financial Secretary to the Treasury, Mark Hoban.


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.