Conservative Diary

« It's easy to call for the burqa to be banned. It's harder to track what extremists are up to. | Main | Five big challenges for a big man (Eric Pickles) »

John Redwood heads the list of those elected to chair the Conservative backbench policy committees

By Jonathan Isaby

Picture 4
As Paul predicted at the beginning of the month, the system of backbench policy committees for Tory MPs is being revived now that the party is again in government.

The 1922 Committee, under Graham Brady's chairmanship, has opted to create five committees covering broad areas of government policy, rather than have one for every single government department, all of which I anticipate will play a significant role both in policy formation and acting as a channel of communication between backbenchers and ministers.

The elections for the chairmen of these committees have just taken place and I can reveal that the following have been chosen to serve by their peers:

  • Economic Affairs - John Redwood
  • Home and Constitutional Affairs - Eleanor Laing
  • Foreign Affairs - Edward Leigh
  • Public Services - Andrew Percy
  • Environment - Neil Parish


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.