Conservative Diary

« Cameron is new Prime Minister | Main | "Dave New World" »

Appointments to the Cameron-Clegg Cabinet

The full list of Cabinet appointments has now been published:

  • Prime Minister - David Cameron
  • Deputy Prime Minister - Nick Clegg
  • Chancellor of the Exchequer - George Osborne
  • Foreign Secretary - William Hague
  • Secretary of State for Education - Michael Gove
  • Secretary of State for Work and Pensions - Iain Duncan Smith
  • Secretary of State for Health - Andrew Lansley
  • Secretary of State for Scotland - Danny Alexander
  • Secretary of State for Defence - Liam Fox
  • Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change - Chris Huhne
  • Secretary of State for Home Affairs and minister for Women and Equality - Theresa May
  • Secretary of State of Justice and Lord Chancellor - Kenneth Clarke
  • Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills - Vince Cable
  • Chief Whip - Patrick McLoughlin (attending Cabinet)
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury - David Laws
  • Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government - Eric Pickles
  • Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Caroline Spelman
  • Secretary of State for Transport - Philip Hammond
  • Secretary of State for International Development - Andrew Mitchell
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport - Jeremy Hunt
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland - Owen Paterson
  • Secretary of State for Wales - Cheryl Gillan
  • Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster - Lord Strathclyde
  • Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal - Sir George Young (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General - Francis Maude (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister of State, Cabinet Office - Oliver Letwin (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister of State (Universities and Science) - Department for Business, Innovation, and Skills - David Willetts (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister without portfolio - Baroness Warsi (also Conservative Party chairman*)
  • Attorney General - Dominic Grieve (invited to attend when required)

It is also known that serving as a minister at the DWP will be Chris Grayling

* 9.45pm update: CCHQ has announced that Baroness Warsi has been appointed party Co-Chairman to serve alongside Andrew Feldman, who is also appointed a Co-Chairman.

James Forsyth has noted the Shadow Cabinet ministers who missed out on a full Cabinet job here as (aside from Chris Grayling): Greg Clark, Theresa Villiers, Nick Herbert, Grant Shapps, Baroness Neville-Jones and Mark Francois (and David Mundell). They have all served the party well in Opposition and I very much hope that they will be rewarded with middle-ranking ministerial posts tomorrow.

The first coalition government since 1945. All unconfirmed but originating from good sources; those appoitnemtns which are confirmed are in bold:

Chancellor of the Exchequer: George Osborne

Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Vince Cable (speculation on Wednesday that he may have a portfolio covering Business and Banks)

Foreign Secretary: William Hague

Health Secretary: Andrew Lansley

Schools Secretary: David Laws (not Michael Gove)

9.45pm: Liam Fox will be Defence Secretary.

Wednesday am:

Nick Clegg to be Deputy Prime Minister; Danny Alexander expected to be Scotland Secretary.

8.30am BBC report that Chris Huhne will be Environment and Climate Change Secretary.

10.15am Vince Cable says that it is a "reasonable supposition" that the role he will have in the government will be an economic one, but says that details will be released later.

11.45 am More jobs just confirmed:

  • Lord Chancellor and Justice Secretary - Ken Clarke
  • Home Secretary and Minister for Women and Equality - Theresa May
  • Chief Whip - Patrick McLoughlin

Noon ConHome understands that Michael Gove will be Schools Secretary

12.30pm The BBC reports that it is likely that Iain Duncan Smith will Work and Pensions Secretary.

12.45pm David Laws reportedly being appointed Chief Secretary to the Treasury.

12.50pm Dominic Grieve reportedly to be Attorney General

1.10pm It is confirmed that VInce Cable will be Business Secretary, which makes him the fifth Lib Dem in the Cabinet (along with Clegg, Alexander, Laws and Huhne)

3.45pm Reports of further appointments:

  • Baroness Warsi - Conservative Party chairman
  • Eric Pickles - Communities and Local Government Secretary
  • Caroline Spelman - Defra Secretary
  • Francis Maude - Cabinet Office minister
  • Jeremy Hunt will be Secretary of State for Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.