« LISTEN: Cameron and Miliband's speeches in the Syria debate | Main | Who's to blame? Cameron, the Whips, or both? »

Full list of Conservative rebel MPs who sank the Government's Syria motion

By Mark Wallace
Follow Mark on Twitter.

The Government's watered-down motion on the principle of military intervention in Syria was defeated tonight by 13 votes.

9 Lib Dems rebelled, along with 30 Conservatives. Embarrassingly, two Government Ministers - Justine Greening and Mark Simmonds - accidentally failed to vote because they apparently either didn't hear the bell or were in a meeting, while Ken Clarke couldn't attend due to "logistical family reasons".

The 30 Conservative rebels are as follows:

David Amess

Steve Baker

Richard Bacon 

John Baron

Andrew Bingham

Crispin Blunt

Fiona Bruce

Tracey Crouch

David TC Davies

Philip Davies

David Davis

Nick de Bois

Richard Drax

Gordon Henderson

Philip Hollobone

Adam Holloway

Dr Phillip Lee

Dr Julian Lewis

Jason McCartney

Stephen McPartland

Nigel Mills

Anne Marie Morris

Andrew Percy

Sir Richard Shepherd

Sir Peter Tapsell

Andrew Turner

Martin Vickers

Charles Walker

Chris White

Dr Sarah Wollaston

[**UPDATE** This list was originally published including Tim Loughton - rather than rebelling, he voted in the Aye and the No lobbies in order to formally register an abstention.]

There'll be more analysis from us in the morning - for now, a lot to consider in an historic defeat inflicted on the Prime Minister by his own MPs.


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.