« Tory MEPs' Leader Richard Ashworth and ex-UKIP defector Marta Andreasen deselected | Main | Martin Callanan MEP: My colleague Vicky Ford fights off a directive that would have damaged our oil industry »

127 Tory MPs oppose the same sex marriage bill, but it still passes the Commons

By Peter Hoskin
Follow Peter on Twitter

The votes are in, and the same sex marriage bill has passed its third reading in the Commons by 366 votes to 161. Of those voting no, 134 were Tories (including 7 abstentions), with 14 Labour MPs, four Lib Dems, eight Democratic Unionists and an independent.

We've posted a full list of how Tory MPs voted below. The 'no' column includes David Jones and Owen Paterson, as well as a smattering of junior ministers, PPSs and whips. As the Times's Billy Kenber tweets:


The bill now moves to the Lords, so it is not yet a done deal – but what Tim Montgomerie rightly presaged as one of David Cameron's "three historic moral achievements" is well on its way to actually being achieved.

Here's that breakdown of how Tory MPs voted:


Stuart Andrew
Harriett Baldwin
Stephen Barclay
Greg Barker
John Baron
Gavin Barwell
Richard Benyon
Crispin Blunt
Nick Boles
Peter Bottomley
Karen Bradley
James Brokenshire
Aidan Burley
Alistair Burt
Dan Byles
David Cameron
Neil Carmichael
Greg Clark
Oliver Colville
Tracey Crouch
Stephen Dorrell
James Duddridge
Alan Duncan
Iain Duncan Smith
Michael Ellis
Jane Ellison
Tobias Ellwood
Michael Fabricant
Mark Field
Mike Freer
Lorraine Fullbrook
Richard Fuller
David Gauke
Nick Gibb
Zac Goldsmith
Michael Gove
Helen Grant
Chris Grayling
Damian Green
Justine Greening
Ben Gummer
Sam Gyimah
Stephen Hammond
Matthew Hancock
Greg Hands
Mark Harper
Richard Harrington
Rebecca Harris
Chris Heaton-Harris
Charles Hendry
Nick Herbert
Damian Hinds
George Hollingbery
Kris Hopkins
Jeremy Hunt
Margot James
Sajid Javid
Bernard Jenkin
Jo Johnson
Andrew Jones
Daniel Kawczynski
Simon Kirby
Andrew Lansley
Pauline Latham
Jessica Lee
Oliver Letwin
Brandon Lewis
Peter Luff
Jason McCartney
Mary Macleod
Patrick McLoughlin
Francis Maude
Theresa May
Mark Menzies
Maria Miller
Nigel Mills
Andrew Mitchell
Penny Mordaunt
Stephen Mosley
David Mowat
Brooks Newmark
Eric Ollerenshaw
Guy Opperman
George Osborne
Richard Ottaway
John Penrose
Andrew Percy
Stephen Phillips
Eric Pickles
Daniel Poulter
Dominic Raab
Mark Reckless
Hugh Robertson
Laura Sandys
Grant Shapps
Mark Simmonds
Chris Skidmore
Chloe Smith
Julian Smith
Anna Soubry
Caroline Spelman
Andrew Stephenson
Iain Stewart
Justin Tomlinson
Elizabeth Truss
Ed Vaizey
Theresa Villiers
Charles Walker
Robin Walker
Dame Angela Watkinson
Mike Weatherley
David Willetts
Dr Sarah Wollaston
Tim Yeo
Sir George Young
Nadhim Zahawi

Conservative teller for the ayes: Desmond Swayne


Nigel Adams
Adam Afriyie
Peter Aldous
David Amess
Richard Bacon
Guto Bebb
Henry Bellingham
Sir Paul Beresford
Andrew Bingham
Nicola Blackwood
Peter Bone
Graham Brady
Julian Brazier
Andrew Bridgen
Steve Brine
Fiona Bruce
Robert Buckland
Simon Burns
David Burrowes
Douglas Carswell
Bill Cash
Rehman Chishti
Christopher Chope
Therese Coffey
Geoffrey Cox
Stephen Crabb
David Davies
Glyn Davies
Philip Davies
David Davis
Nick de Bois
Nadine Dorries
Jackie Doyle-Price
Richard Drax
Philip Dunne
Charlie Elphicke
Jonathan Evans
David Evennett
Dr Liam Fox
Mark Francois
George Freeman
Roger Gale
Sir Edward Garnier
Mark Garnier
Cheryl Gillan
John Glen
Robert Goodwill
James Gray
Andrew Griffiths
Robert Halfon
Simon Hart
Sir Alan Haselhurst
John Hayes
Oliver Heald
Gordon Henderson
Philip Hollobone
Adam Holloway
Sir Gerald Howarth
Stewart Jackson
Gareth Johnson
David Jones
Marcus Jones
Chris Kelly
Kwasi Kwarteng
Phillip Lee
Jeremy Lefroy
Edward Leigh
Julian Lewis
Ian Liddell-Grainger
David Lidington
Peter Lilley
Jonathan Lord
Tim Loughton
Karen Lumley
Karl McCartney
Stephen McPartland
Esther McVey
Anne Main
Paul Maynard
Stephen Metcalfe
Anne Milton
Nicky Morgan
Anne-Marie Morris
David Morris
James Morris
Bob Neill
David Nuttall
Stephen O’Brien
Matthew Offord
Jim Paice
Neil Parish
Priti Patel
Owen Paterson
Mark Pawsey
Mike Penning
Mark Pritchard
John Redwood
Jacob Rees-Mogg
Sir Malcolm Rifkind
Andrew Robathan
Laurence Robertson
Andrew Rosindell
David Rutley
Lee Scott
Andrew Selous
Alec Shelbrooke
Sir Richard Shepherd
Henry Smith
Sir John Stanley
John Stevenson
Bob Stewart
Mel Stride
Julian Sturdy
Robert Syms
David Tredinnick
Andrew Turner
Shailesh Vara
Martin Vickers
Ben Wallace
Robert Walter
James Wharton
Heather Wheeler
Craig Whittaker
John Whittingdale
Bill Wiggin
Gavin Williamson
Jeremy Wright

Tellers for the noes: Mr John Randall and Mark Lancaster

The 7 Tory MPs who abstained (by voting no and aye): Graham Evans, John Howell, Andrea Leadsom, Phillip Lee, Charlotte Leslie, Claire Perry and Rob Wilson


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.