« Andrew Lansley and Sir George Young take office with light legislative schedule | Main | LibDem collapse in Corby should worry every Tory facing a second-placed Labour candidate »

Conservative Select Committee appointments announced

By Matthew Barrett
Follow Matthew on Twitter.

SelectCommittesGuido Fawkes has a list of new Conservative members of Select Committees, from Graham Brady's office. Mr Brady explains: "For the following committees I have received the same number of nominations as there are vacancies, the following are therefore elected". The appointments are:

Communities and Local Government

John Stevenson (Carlisle), replacing George Hollingbery (Meon Valley), who became PPS to Theresa May at the reshuffle.


Chris Skidmore (Kingswood), replacing Damian Hinds (East Hampshire), who became PPS to Mark Francois, the Minister of State for Defence Personnel, Welfare and Veterans.


Andrew Percy (Brigg and Goole), replacing Dr Daniel Poulter (Central Suffolk and North Ipswich), who was made the Parliamentary Undersecretary of State for Health Services.


Bob Neill (Bromley and Chislehurst, and a former DCLG Minister and current "Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party") and Rehman Chishti (Gillingham and Rainham), replacing Liz Truss (South West Norfolk), who became the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Education and Childcare, and Ben Gummer (Ipswich), who became Alan Duncan's PPS at DfID.

Northern Ireland

Andrew Percy (Brigg and Goole), replacing Kris Hopkins (Keighley), who became the PPS to Andrew Robathan, the Minister of State for the Armed Forces.

Public Accounts

Guto Bebb (Aberconwy) and Justin Tomlinson (North Swindon), replacing Matthew Hancock (West Suffolk), who was made the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Business and Education.


Glyn Davies (Montgomeryshire), replacing Stuart Andrew (Pudsey), who was made PPS to Francis Maude.

Work and Pensions

Aidan Burley (Cannock Chase), Nigel Mills (Amber Valley), Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot), Jane Ellison (Battersea) and Graham Evans (Weaver Vale), replacing Brandon Lewis (Great Yarmouth), now a Minister at DCLG, Oliver Heald (North East Hertfordshire), who was appointed Solicitor General, Karen Bradley (Staffordshire Moorlands), who was made an Assistant Whip, and Harriet Baldwin, who was made PPS to Mark Hoban at DWP.

As well as all those appointments listed above, the following MPs have been nominated for the select committee elections which will take place after PMQs on Wednesday:

Business (two vacancies)

Caroline Dinenage (Gosport), Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon), Richard Fuller (Bedford), Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot), Robin Walker (Worcester), and Mike Weatherley (Hove)

Culture, Media and Sport (three vacancies)

Andrew Bingham (High Peak), Angie Bray (Ealing Central and Acton), Conor Burns (Bournemouth West), Alun Cairns (Vale of Glamorgan), Tracey Crouch (Chatham and Aylesford), Jason McCartney (Colne Valley), David Morris (Morecambe and Lunesdale), Caroline Nokes (Romsey and Southampton North), and Mike Weatherley (Hove)

Defence (one vacancy)

Crispin Blunt (Reigate), James Gray (North Wiltshire), and Adam Holloway (Gravesham)

Energy and Climate Change (one vacancy)

Peter Lilley (Hitchin and Harpenden), and David Morris (Morecambe and Lunesdale)

Environment Food and Rural Affairs (one vacancy)

Simon Hart (Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire), Sheryll Murray (South East Cornwall), and Mark Spencer (Sherwood)

International Development (two vacancies)

Fiona Bruce (Congleton), Matthew Offord (Hendon), and Mark Pritchard (The Wrekin)

Procedure (one vacancy)

Jonathan Lord (Woking), and Martin Vickers (Cleethorpes)

Transport (two vacancies)

Gareth Johnson (Dartford), Karen Lumley (Redditch), and Karl McCartney (Lincoln)

Treasury (one vacancy)

Steve Baker (Wycombe), Brooks Newmark (Braintree), and Dominic Raab (Esher and Walton)


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.