« Eurosceptic Tory MPs grill Cameron following G20 statement | Main | William Hague tells the House Britain will abstain on UN Palestinian statehood vote »

The ePetition on fuel prices is softened but wins support of 81 Tory MPs

By Tim Montgomerie
Follow Tim on Twitter

81 is not David Cameron's favourite number and there'll be a few raised eyebrows that 81 backbench Tories have signed up to Robert Halfon MP's motion which calls for the Government to bring more relief to motorists who are paying such high fuel prices. The motion is worded in a very mild way and this has helped it to attract normally very on message Conservatives such as Andrew Griffiths, Paul Uppal and Nadhim Zahawi. More than 100 MPs have signed in total, from all parties.

Interestingly the motion that the Commons will debate is not the motion that nearly 110,000 people signed. For example the original petition's plea to "scrap the planned 4p fuel duty increases" is replaced with the much softer "call on the Government to consider the effect that increased taxes on fuel will have on the economy". The ePetition's desire to "set up a Commission to look at market competitiveness, and radical ways of cutting fuel taxes in the longer term" has completely vanished. I understand, however, that this change in wording has been agreed by FairFuelUK in order to maximise support.

  1. Peter Aldous
  2. Steve Baker
  3. Harriett Baldwin
  4. Mr John Baron  
  5. Guto Bebb
  6. Andrew Bingham
  7. Bob Blackman
  8. Nicola Blackwood
  9. Mr Peter Bone
  10. Karen Bradley
  11. Mr Graham Brad
  12. Andrew Bridgen
  13. Steve Brine
  14. Fiona Bruce
  15. Mr Robert Buckland
  16. Dan Byles
  17. Damian Collins
  18. Mr David Davis
  19. Nick de Bois
  20. Caroline Dinenage
  21. Nadine Dorries
  22. Jackie Doyle-Price
  23. Charlie Elphicke
  24. Graham Evans
  25. Mike Freer
  26. Mark Garnier
  27. John Glen
  28. Mrs Helen Grant
  29. Mr James Gray
  30. Andrew Griffiths
  31. Robert Halfon
  32. Rebecca Harris
  33. Simon Hart
  34. Gordon Henderson
  35. Damian Hinds
  36. George Hollingbery
  37. Mr Philip Hollobone
  38. Kris Hopkins
  39. Mr Stewart Jackson
  40. Mr Marcus Jones
  41. Chris Kelly  
  42. Simon Kirby
  43. Pauline Latham
  44. Jeremy Lefroy   
  45. Brandon Lewis
  46. Jonathan Lord
  47. Jason McCartney
  48. Miss Anne McIntosh
  49. Patrick Mercer
  50. Paul Maynard
  51. Nigel Mills
  52. Penny Mordaunt
  53. Anne Marie Morris  
  54. James Morris
  55. David Morris
  56. Stephen Mosley  
  57. Sheryll Murray  
  58. Sarah Newton
  59. Caroline Nokes  
  60. Mr David Nuttall  
  61. Mr Matthew Offord
  62. Priti Patel
  63. Mark Pawsey
  64. Andrew Percy  
  65. Mark Pritchard
  66. Amber Rudd
  67. Laura Sandys
  68. Henry Smith
  69. Nicholas Soames
  70. Mr Mark Spencer
  71. Andrew Stephenson
  72. Mr Graham Stuart
  73. Justin Tomlinson  
  74. Paul Uppal
  75. Martin Vickers
  76. Mr Robin Walker
  77. James Wharton
  78. Heather Wheeler
  79. Chris White  
  80. Dr Sarah Wollaston
  81. Nadhim Zahawi


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.