« Duncan Smith, Fox and Paterson back Dorries/Field amendment | Main | Osborne, Hague and Pickles voted against Dorries/Field amendment »

The senior Tories who backed Dorries/Field yesterday - including Cameron's PPS

By Paul Goodman
Follow Paul on Twitter

Lists of how Conservative MPs vote on "moral" issues have a perennial fascination (since they tend to divide more evenly than Labour ones.)  Some vote for reasons of principle alone; others, particularly senior ones,  want to show a bit of ankle to the party's right or the liberal media - and these motives aren't necessarily mutually exclusive.

Here below from Hansard is the list of MPs who voted for the Dorries/Field abortion amendment yesterday on counselling.  Among the senior Conservatives who voted in the Aye lobby were Henry Bellingham, Graham Brady, Chris Grayling, John Hayes, Gerald Howarth, Tim Loughton, Maria Miller, and Desmond Swayne, David Cameron's PPS.

I noted yesterday that Liam Fox, Owen Paterson and Iain Duncan Smith voted for the amendment, which was lost by 316 votes to 118.  I will try to have a look later at those who passed through the No lobby.

Adams, Nigel

Aldous, Peter

Amess, Mr David

Bacon, Mr Richard

Baker, Steve

Baldry, Tony

Beith, rh Sir Alan

Bellingham, Mr Henry

Benton, Mr Joe

Berry, Jake

Birtwistle, Gordon

Blackman, Bob

Blackwood, Nicola

Brady, Mr Graham

Brazier, Mr Julian

Bridgen, Andrew

Bruce, Fiona

Buckland, Mr Robert

Burns, Conor

Burrowes, Mr David

Cairns, Alun

Cash, Mr William

Chishti, Rehman

Clappison, Mr James

Coffey, Dr Thérèse

Colvile, Oliver

Cooper, Rosie

Crabb, Stephen

Davies, Philip

de Bois, Nick

Dobbin, Jim

Docherty, Thomas

Dodds, rh Mr Nigel

Donaldson, rh Mr Jeffrey M.

Dorries, Nadine

Duncan Smith, rh Mr Iain

Durkan, Mark

Evans, Jonathan

Evennett, Mr David

Flello, Robert

Fox, rh Dr Liam

Fuller, Richard

Garnier, Mark

Glen, John

Glindon, Mrs Mary

Goodwill, Mr Robert

Grant, Mrs Helen

Gray, Mr James

Grayling, rh Chris

Greatrex, Tom

Gummer, Ben

Halfon, Robert

Hands, Greg

Hayes, Mr John

Henderson, Gordon

Hermon, Lady

Hinds, Damian

Hollobone, Mr Philip

Howarth, Mr Gerald

Jackson, Mr Stewart

Javid, Sajid

Kawczynski, Daniel

Kelly, Chris

Leadsom, Andrea

Lee, Jessica

Lefroy, Jeremy

Leigh, Mr Edward

Lidington, rh Mr David

Long, Naomi

Lord, Jonathan

Loughton, Tim

Main, Mrs Anne

Maynard, Paul

McCartney, Karl

McCrea, Dr William

McDonnell, Dr Alasdair

McPartland, Stephen

Menzies, Mark

Mercer, Patrick

Metcalfe, Stephen

Miller, Maria

Morgan, Nicky

Mosley, Stephen

Mulholland, Greg

Newmark, Mr Brooks

Nuttall, Mr David

Ollerenshaw, Eric

Paterson, rh Mr Owen

Percy, Andrew

Pincher, Christopher

Pound, Stephen

Pritchard, Mark

Reckless, Mark

Redwood, rh Mr John

Rees-Mogg, Jacob

Robertson, Mr Laurence

Rosindell, Andrew

Roy, Mr Frank

Rutley, David

Scott, Mr Lee

Selous, Andrew

Shannon, Jim

Shelbrooke, Alec

Shepherd, Mr Richard

Shuker, Gavin

Simpson, David

Stewart, Iain

Streeter, Mr Gary

Swayne, rh Mr Desmond

Tomlinson, Justin

Vaz, rh Keith

Vickers, Martin

Walker, Mr Charles

Wallace, Mr Ben

Whittaker, Craig

Whittingdale, Mr John

Wilson, Mr Rob

Wilson, Sammy

Tellers for the Ayes:

Mr Brian Binley and

Mr Peter Bone


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.