« Tory MPs seek measures to prevent unfair dismissal on grounds of age | Main | Tory MPs call for Cameron to show "backbone" and resist voting rights for prisoners »

27 Tory MPs back Bill Cash's amendment on reaffirmation of parliamentary sovereignty

By Jonathan Isaby

Bill Cash Yesterday saw a whole day's debate in committee on the floor of the House on the European Union Bill, principally considering Bill Cash's amendment, which would have added to Clause 18 of the Bill:

"The sovereignty of the United Kingdom Parliament is hereby reaffirmed."

We covered the issues involved in yesterday's ToryDiary on the subject, and Cash's lengthy speech to his amendment can be read here, with Europe Minister David Lidington's reply to the debate here.

The amendment was defeated by 314 votes to 39, with 27 Tory MPs backing it, namely (* denotes 2010 intake):

  1. Steve Baker*
  2. Brian Binley
  3. Peter Bone
  4. Andrew Bridgen*
  5. Douglas Carswell
  6. Bill Cash
  7. Chris Chope
  8. James Clappison
  9. David Davis
  10. Richard Drax*
  11. Zac Goldsmith*
  12. Gordon Henderson*
  13. Philip Hollobone
  14. Bernard Jenkin
  15. Chris Kelly*
  16. Edward Leigh
  17. Julian Lewis
  18. Jason McCartney*
  19. David Nuttall*
  20. Mark Reckless
  21. John Redwood
  22. Richard Shepherd
  23. Sir John Stanley
  24. Sir Peter Tapsell
  25. Andrew Turner
  26. Charles Walker
  27. John Whittingdale

They were joined by 8 Labour MPS,  5 DUP MPs and 1 Independent MP.

It was the first time that Bernard Jenkin, Chris Kelly*, Edward Leigh, Sir John Stanley and John Whittingdale have rebelled on a European issue this Parliament.

Conversely, three of those who have rebelled in at least two of the three previous Euro rebellions (see here for previous European rebellions this Parliament) failed to back Cash's move: Philip Davies did not participate in the vote (I do not know his reason - he may have been on parliamentary or constituency business out of Westminster) whilst both Andrew Percy and Martin Vickers both voted with the Government.


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.