« Jacob Rees-Mogg identifies the three historical heroes from his constituency who will be his political inspiration | Main | Dominic Raab and Bob Blackman celebrate the new Government's belief in civil liberties in their maiden speeches »

Lindsay Hoyle, Nigel Evans and Dawn Primarolo elected Deputy Speakers

John Bercow has just announced the result of the elections for the three Deputy Speakers.

The successful candidates were:

  • Lindsay Hoyle - Chairman of Ways and Means
  • Nigel Evans - 1st Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means
  • Dawn Primarolo - 2nd Deputy Chairman of ways and Means

Needless to say, having backed both Lindsay and Nigel, I am delighted to see them both elected.

> Paul Waugh has the full results on his blog, but the first preferences were:

  • Nigel Evans (Con) - 124
  • Lindsay Hoyle (Lab) - 90
  • Dawn Primarolo (Lab) - 76
  • Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Con) - 57
  • Roger Gale (Con)  - 48
  • Tom Clarke (Lab) - 47
  • George Howarth (Lab) - 40
  • Anne McIntosh (Con) - 24
  • Marsha Singh (Lab) - 9

Jonathan Isaby


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.