« Double slates? | Main | Why David Cameron should answer PMQs twice a week »

Full list of the Conservative races for Select Committee chairmanships

Wednesday June 9th will see the first ever elections for chairmen of the various Commons Select Committees. Paul Goodman has already posted here about the importance of who chairs Select Committees.

A Conservative will chair twelve of these committees, although all 650 MPs will be eligible to take part in the secret ballot conducted under the Alternative Vote system (ie ranking your first, second etc preferences with votes transferring from the least popular candidates until one has more than 50% of the vote).

Below are those twelve committees and the latest information we have as to the contenders (updated on Tuesday 8th June with the candidates for the Labour and Lib Dem chairmanships). Those in bold have officially submitted their nomination; the others named below are being mooted as likely contenders based on ConHome sources and media reports.

The lists will be updated as more information emerges, so if you have any further information about likely candidates, please email me.

Bear in mind that nominations do not close until Tuesday June 8th, so potential contenders may drop out and others may yet enter the races.

Check back here over the coming days for updated information on the contenders for each race.

Conservative chairmanships

Culture, Olympics, Media and Sport
  • John Whittingdale
  • James Arbuthnot
  • Douglas Carswell
  • Julian Lewis
  • Patrick Mercer
  • Rob Wilson
  • Lee Scott
  • Graham Stuart
  • Andrew Turner
Energy and Climate Change
  • Philip Hollobone
  • Tim Yeo
Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
  • James Gray
  • Stewart Jackson
  • Anne McIntosh
  • Neil Parish
Foreign Affairs
  • John Baron
  • Sir John Stanley
  • Richard Ottaway
  • Sir Paul Beresford
  • Peter Bone
  • Stephen Dorrell
  • Nadine Dorries
Northern Ireland
  • Laurence Robertson
  • Michael Fallon
  • Andrew Tyrie
Welsh Affairs
  • David Davies
Public Administration
  • Bernard Jenkin
  • Chris Chope
  • Ian Liddell-Grainger
  • Greg Knight

Labour chairmanships

Business, Innovation and Skills

  • Adrian Bailey
  • Geraint Davies
  • Barry Sheerman
Communities and Local Government
  • Clive Betts
  • Nick Raynsford

Environmental Audit

  • Barry Gardiner
  • Joan Walley
Home Affairs
  • Alun Michael
  • Keith Vaz
Political and Constitutional Reform
  • Graham Allen
  • Hywel Francis
Public Accounts
  • Hugh Bayley
  • Brian Donohoe
  • Margaret Hodge
  • Michael Meacher
  • Iain Wright
Science and Technology
  • Andrew Miller
  • Graham Stringer
Scottish Affairs
  • Ian Davidson
  • Louise Ellman
Work and Pensions
  • Anne Begg
  • Karen Buck

Liberal Democrat chairmanships

International Development

  • Malcolm Bruce
  • Sir Alan Beith

Jonathan Isaby


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.