« Peers urge Government to allow Gurkhas to settle in UK | Main | Britishness and The Rule of Law »

The twenty-one Conservative MPs who voted to keep the 'John Lewis list'

  1. David Amess
  2. James Arbuthnot
  3. Henry Bellingham
  4. Brian Binley
  5. Sir John Butterfill
  6. Christopher Chope
  7. John Greenway
  8. Gerald Howarth
  9. Bernard Jenkin
  10. Julie Kirkbride
  11. Eleanor Laing
  12. Anne McIntosh
  13. Andrew Mackay
  14. Andrew Rosindell
  15. Hugo Swire
  16. Sir Peter Tapsell
  17. Angela Watkinson
  18. Ann Widdecombe
  19. David Wilshire
  20. Lady Ann Winterton
  21. Sir Nicholas Winterton.

RedBox lists all of the Labour and other MPs who also voted to keep the second home allowance, as it is properly called.

Mr Cameron has rightly attacked Gordon Brown for not leading on this issue but it is disappointing that three four frontbenchers/ whips (Gerald Howarth, Andrew Rosindell and Angela Watkinson and Eleanor Laing) and most notably of all Andrew Mackay, the key fixer within his private office, ignored the call he made at the MPs' recent away weekend for the party to be most reformist when it came to parliamentary allowances.


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.