Conservative Home

« Redbridge to freeze Council Tax | Main | Tower Hamlets Labour councillor defects to the Conservatives »

Do you live in a "Nuclear Free Authority"?

During the 1980s era of the "looney left" Labour councils would frequently declare themselves "Nuclear Free Zones." Cllr Iain Lindley reminds us that this practice continues. Socialists can indulge in some agitprop at their Council Taxpayer's expense by affiliating to Nuclear Free Local Authorities who promise that in return: "Your local council will be publicly demonstrating its opposition to nuclear power and nuclear weapons." The organisation is based in Manchester Town Hall.

The subs vary but for Cllr Lindley's Labour-run Salford Council the annual bill comes to £2,332. The organisation lists some Conservative as well as Labour Councils as members - there is a health warning that as recently as December they listed Hammersmith and Fulham, information I confirmed was out of date. Nottinghamshire and Staffordshire only became Conservative last year - so perhaps their membership has yet to expire. But it is always worth checking which organisations your Council is a member of.


Blyth Valley Borough Council
Burnley Borough Council
Bury Borough Council
Chester-le-Street District Council
Coventry City Council
Derwentside District Council
Gateshead Borough Council
Greater Manchester Fire & Civil Defence Authority
Hackney London Borough Council
Hyndburn Borough Council
Kingston upon Hull City Council

Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Lancashire County Council
Leeds City Council
Liverpool City Council
Manchester City Council
Newcastle under Lyme Borough Council
Newcastle upon Tyne City Council
Newham London Borough Council
North East Derbyshire District Council
North Lincolnshire Council
Norwich City Council
Nottinghamshire County Council
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
Oxford City Council
Reading Borough Council
Redditch Borough Council
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Saint Helens Metropolitan Borough Council
Salford City Council
Shropshire County Council
South Somerset District Council
South Tyneside Metropolitan Borough Council
Staffordshire County Council
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council
Thurrock Borough Council
Tower Hamlets London Borough Council
Wansbeck District Council


Dundee City Council
City of Edinburgh
Fife Council
City of Glasgow
Midlothian Council
North Lanarkshire Council
Renfrewshire Council
Shetland Islands Council
West Dumbartonshire Council
West Lothian Council
Western Isles Islands Council


Bridgend County Borough Council
Caerphilly County Borough Council
Cardiff City Council
Ceredigion County Council
Denbighshire County Council
Flintshire County Council
Gwynedd Council
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council
Newport County Borough Council
Pembrokeshire County Council
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff County Borough Council

Northern Ireland

Down District Council
Moyle District Council
Newry & Mourne District Council


You must be logged in using Intense Debate, Wordpress, Twitter or Facebook to comment.