Left Watch

« Guess who's photographed in today's Times wearing plus fours, tasselled socks, a Viyella shirt and leather-lined wellies? | Main | Millionaires should get child benefit, says Ed Miliband »

Final list of junior shadow ministerial appointments

By Jonathan Isaby

After the announcement of the Shadow Cabinet yesterday, news is starting to emerge of Ed Miliband's junior frontbench appointments:

  • David Wooding from The News of the World has tweeted that Diane Abbott has been made shadow public health minister.
  • Meanwhile, Patrick Hennessy from the Sunday Telegraph has tweeted that there are roles for Chuka Umunna, Rachel Reeves and Michael Dugher from the new intake.


  • Vincent Moss tweets that Dugher will be a shadow defence minister alongside Kevan Jones, who was a Defence Minister until the election.
  • Tony Cunningham remains a whip, he has told the Carlisle News and Star.

More news will follow as it emerges...

Sunday 6pm: LabourList has the full list of junior appointees including appointments from the Class of 2010: Rachel Reeves, Johnny Reynolds, Tom Greatrex, Michael Dugher, Luciana Berger, Gloria De Piero and Gemma Doyle.

Monday: Having looked through the list, it appears that Ed Miliband has responded to the attacks that his Shadow Cabinet is packed with people who were ministers under Gordon Brown by rushing to appoint a significant number of inexperienced new MPs as opposition spokesman. No fewer than 22 of the Class of 2010 (marked with an asterisk* below) have been given a role.

Here are the junior spokesmen in full (Shadow Cabinet are all listed here)

David Hanson
Chris Leslie
Kerry McCarthy

Foreign Affairs
John Spellar
Wayne David
Stephen Twigg
Emma Reynolds*

Home Affairs
Vernon Coaker
Phil Woolas
Gerry Sutcliffe
Diana Johnson
Shabana Mahmood*

Kevin Brennan
Sharon Hodgson
Iain Wright
Toby Perkins*

Chris Bryant (Political and Constitutional Reform)
Helen Goodman
Andy Slaughter
Rob Flello

Work and Pensions
Stephen Timms
Karen Buck
Margaret Curran*
Rachel Reeves*

Business, Innovation and Skills
Gareth Thomas
Ian Lucas
Gordon Banks
Gordon Marsden
Nia Griffith
Chi Onwurah*

Diane Abbott (Public Health)
Emily Thornberry
Derek Twigg
Liz Kendall*

Communities and Local Government
Alison Seabeck
Barbara Keeley
Jack Dromey*
Chris Williamson*

Kevan Jones
Russell Brown
Michael Dugher*
Gemma Doyle*

Energy and Climate Change
Huw Irranca-Davies
Luciana Berger*

International Development
Mark Lazarowicz
Rushanara Ali*

Jim Fitzpatrick
Andrew Gwynne
John Woodcock*

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Willie Bain
Jamie Reed
Peter Soulsby

Northern Ireland
Eric Joyce

Tom Greatrex*

Owen Smith*

Culture, Media and Sport
Ian Austin
Gloria De Piero*

Cabinet Office spokesman
Roberta Blackman-Woods

Women and Equalities
Fiona MacTaggart

Shadow Solicitor-General
Catherine McKinnell*

Shadow Deputy Leader of the House of Commons
Helen Jones

Alan Campbell (Deputy Chief Whip)
Tony Cunningham (Pairing Whip)
Lyn Brown
Mark Tami
David Wright
Stephen Pound
David Hamilton
Dave Anderson
Angela Smith
Phil Wilson
Lillian Greenwood*
Jonathan Reynolds*
Graham Jones*

PPSs to Ed Miliband
Anne McGuire
Chuka Umunna*